Martindale Awards

Distinguished: An excellent rating for a lawyer with some experience. This rating indicates the attorney is widely respected by their peers for high professional achievement and ethical standards.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.4/5.0

Average Client Rating

50% client recommended
Our reviews are compiled from our profiles on the legal directories Lawyers.com and Avvo.com.

Source Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2018-10-22

Phil Lengle was professional, up front and fair. He helped make a very difficult process much easier in a timely manner.

— Client 10/22/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-28

Philip Lengle was the best choice for our situation. We had considered using ndividual lawyers but then decided using Phil as a mediator would help as to not escalate the situation. He made us understand our situation in a clear way. Helped us negotiate our finances and coparenting in an adult way. I would recommend his expertise to any of my family or friends. His legal secretary Jane will also help with anything that is needed and both Phil and Jane followed up extensively. If I had any questions they were and will be there, that I know. He has helped us well beyond my expectations.

— Client 08/28/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-20

I made the unfortunate choice of choosing, and hiring, another pair of attorneys in West Dundee before a friend recommended Phil. My first attorneys could not handle even the most basic of court procedures, and allowed minor issues with my wife to escalate (which was both counter-productive to settling, and drove up fees/costs). Phil by contrast was able to quickly get a handle on my case and start things moving forward again. He explained things thoroughly to me at each step in the process, laid out choices, including general guidance on what the legal costs might be associated with each option, and ultimately helped me make good legal choices. He was also extremely adept at dealing with my wife's attorney by calming the situation down, and focusing on the facts and choices in front of us. That is not a judgement statement on my wife's attorney, who I am sure was only doing her best to represent my wife, but rather it is to say that Phil did not allow things to devolve over solvable problems. The difference between Phil's approach and my first attorney, was dramatic both in terms of effectiveness, and cost. I would gladly recommend Phil to friends and family.

— Client 08/20/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-17

I am extremely pleased with Phil. He was there for me every step of the way. He helped me get the child support amount I had hoped for and also helped negotiate my oldest daughter’s college expenses more in my favor. Phil is a very down to earth and I felt very comfortable working with him. I wish I would have known him back in 2013 when I went through my actual divorce. I highly recommend him.

— Client 08/17/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-02-26

Phil truly understood all aspects of my case and how to successfully position the arguments. Phil was realistic about my case from the outset so that I was well prepared for the ultimate outcome, which I greatly appreciate. He provided excellent advice on how to handle each step throughout the divorce process. Phil was consistently well organized, prepared, and deftly handled opposing counsel. He did this all in a calm and good-humored manner thereby making the whole process less stressful than it could have been.

— Client 02/26/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-16

Phil did a great job guiding me through a very tough process. His knowledge of the law is second to none. Phil was able to keep me updated through the 9 month process. Phil showed sympathy, but also provided me the realities of the divorce. I would definitely recommend Phil.

— Client 01/16/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2017-09-29

This was my 5th lawyer I had to use since my divorce. Been trying for custody and Father's rights. Phil was the first have things go my way. Was the first to make me feel like I wasn't just dollar signs, but actually cared how things worked out. My financial situation was not good, yet he put in all the necessary effort a client needed. He also was willing to work with me on my balance. Couldn't be happier with Phil's services.

— Client 09/29/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-07-25

I would refer Phil to anyone who wants to work with the ultimate professional, and wants top notch service. One of the things I was expecting during this process was to be "over-promised." Phil deals in reality, and not what you may want to hear. Phil is prompt, respectful, diligent, and as knowledgeable as they come in his profession and gets results. This process can be a daunting process, yet dealing directly with Phil and his staff made the process easier and seamless.

— Client 07/25/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-07-22

My experience with Phil was emotional to say the least. Phil was possibly the only reason I was able to sleep at night, function during the days and not fall apart (well, completely fall apart). Being involved in any custody dispute really pulls at your heart strings while testing your ability to fully trust someone else to handle the most precious and fragile piece of your life, while you dissipate into the shadows to some degree. The only control I really ever felt (in the midst of feeling like I had lost it all) was the matter in which I portrayed my story, my truth, in the hopes that Phil was able to take all of that, organize it, and bring to light all of what was burning inside of me. That is by far the scariest thing I have had to partake in. Admittedly I tried my hardest to simultaneously pretend that none of this was going on in my life while it also being the only thing keeping the sun from fully ever shining through during my days. Its a complete contradictory but when you feel all your emotions at once, you're allowed to be. I had to put what little hope and energy I had left into someone I had just met with (respectively speaking, as we did interview and what not) in the hopes that he could essentially become me. Phil did that, and with ease. In hindsight, he did it fairly quickly and with a couple extra sides of smooth. Aside from REALLY knowing the law, the ins and outs, Phil was able to simplify everything brought before us. Eloquently and seamlessly Phil transformed everything I brought to the table and transformed it all into a presentation that correctly depicted the real life situation at hand. Staying honest and realistic, Phil never disappeared on me and walked WITH me throughout this tireless and what seemed to be a never ending journey. When people walk in his office they are not at their best, I know I wasn't. My eyes were never dry and to say I was devastatingly scared would still be an understatement. At the end of the day, its rings loud and clear that Phil is beyond educated with Family Law. Bells and whistles were probably going off long before it was quiet enough in my head to actually hear them. I was in good hands the whole time. Both times. Phil doesnt take short cuts or pacify even the smallest of detail a client feels they need him to understand-- this is because no matter how small he may think or know a situation or fact may be, his character knows that whatever is being brought to the table at that point in time is the WHOLE WORLD to his client. Meeting Phil was the best thing that could have happened to me during the most devastating time in my life. It could have been a destructive time too- Phil wont allow that though.

— Client 07/22/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-03-15

Was able to identify and resolve closure on UA support and eliminate maintance in a rapid direct to the point manor.

— Client 03/15/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-02-24

What I thought would be a simple process turned into a nightmare due to opposing counsel. Phil kept in communication with me regularly, gave honest scenarios and steps to take, and was emphatic to my frustration. in court he was calm when talking to the judge and opposing counsel about her claims and evidence. He is extremely knowledge and able to defend his clients to the fullest.

— Client 02/24/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2017-01-12

Went above and beyond and staff in the office were fantastic.

— Client 01/12/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2016-12-27

I went to Phil to help me get the most time with my kids. know I now have my kids every other week, Monday to Monday, this the best a father can ask for and Phil help me get it.

— Client 12/27/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-07-25

I've been a client of Phil Lengle for several years. I struggled to find a attorney that would work hard for me and who was fair. All of my past attorneys didn't get me the results I was looking for. Phil was the first attorney who actually made a difference for me. I didn't have a lot of money and my case wasn't a huge money maker for Phil but he worked just as hard for me as he does for all of his clients. Big or small. He has become like a friend to me and has really always taken care of me like family. I HIGHLY recommend Phil Lengle to all of my friends and family. He's an amazing attorney and one in a million.

— Client 07/25/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-06-26

Going through a divorce is hard, you have a lot of questions and concerns that need to be answered. Working with Phil and his team was a great experience. Phil was easy to talk to, had great communication, understood the laws and my rights. Phil always had me and my kids best interest in hand and I would highly recommend his services to anyone going through a divorce.

— Client 06/26/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-04-30

I came to Mr Lengle's office one day before my trial was to begin to defend my ex wife's suit to remove our minor son from the state. With just one day's notice, Mr. Lengle was able to grasp the important details of my case and successfully win the battle in court. I found him to be bright, articulate, personable, extremely knowledgeable regarding the laws in which he deals, and realistic in what to expect from the judge. He did not promise me the world and not deliver, like some attorneys I have heard about. If you are looking for a cut throat, underhanded, unprofessional, mean divorce attorney to represent you, Mr. Lengle is not the guy for you. He is 100% above board and professional at all times. As all attorney clients, I too, wish the billable hours were not so high. Mr. Lengle is not the least expensive divorce attorney in the tri cities, but he is not the most expensive one either. In this case, I feel I got what I paid for. Mr. Lengle was very effective for me in the courtroom. Because of him and his expertise, I was able to walk away from each courtroom visit with a smile on my face. I would, and have, referred him as a very good choice for divorce or family matters. I hope not to ever need his type of services again, but if I do I would not hesitate to have him represent me again.

— Client 04/30/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-04-27

I consider Phil not only my lawyer but also a friend as he truly listens, understands, acts and gets results with integrity. Phil goes out of his way to be sure all the bases are covered by being thorough, accurate and prepared. He represented me very well and handles himself in manner that exudes professionalism. Need a lawyer? Talk to Phil.

— Client 04/27/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-04-27

I don't have enough positive adjectives to describe how wonderful Phil and his team have been. I hired Phil almost 10 years ago and he helped me navigate a protracted process that included a four day trail and now two years of post-decree issues. From the first day in court, I knew we were prepared, and I was confident that my concerns would be voiced. I wouldn't change lawyers! Phil is fair, practical, ethical, diligent, responsive and blunt. There has never been a problem reaching Phil, and I can count on him to give me good advice, even if it is sometimes advice I don't want to hear. The decisions are ultimately mine to make, but I believe Phil has helped me keep the "personal" out of the divorce process and focus on the big issues – saving me time, money, and additional stress. The divorce process and post decree process is expensive no matter which attorney you choose, but I know Phil has saved me money in the short term and the long run, and has helped protect my future. Phil made recommendations when my children were in elementary and middle school that have paid off now that they are in high school and college. Phil helped me focus on the business of divorce, and I’m grateful to have selected Phil and his team.

— Client 04/27/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-04-25

Phil has not only been an excellent attorney, but I'm proud to consider him my friend. During a challenging time in my life, Phil has been available, considerate and instrumental in guiding me through a difficult process. I recommend him, without reservation, if you desire someone you can trust.

— Client 04/25/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-02-25

Phil Lengle was there for me and my family during what was a very difficult time. He was very informative and straightforward with any possible outcomes that may have occurred during my Custody and JPA battles. He was very prepared and the end result was the absolute best outcome for myself and my children. I would recommend Phil for representation to anyone that has to go through these unfortunate situations. He will fight for you and your children's best interest and do so in a well prepared and informative, knowledgeable way to ease any concerns you may have. Thank you Phil and legal staff for everything- an excellent team to have fighting for you and your children.

— Client 02/25/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-02-20

I am truly grateful for the council provided and diligence throughout my situation. I feel I was represented with my best interests throughout the entire process and that made the whole process smooth and stress-free. Availability and responsiveness by Phil and team was second to none.

— Client 02/20/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2015-09-04

Phil is a great listener and always keeps my best interest in mind. Recently he helped me with a JPA issue. Even though it didn't turn out as I had wanted, Phil's guidance was excellent.

— Client 09/04/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-08-30

I had a very difficult divorce involving custody issues and an extremely inflexible spouse. Philip tackled a very tough case with professionalism and got me a fair settlement given the bad situation he inherited from my previous attorney. We were dealing with a couple of unprofessional opposing attorneys and Philip worked through the deadlocked situation and secured a good solution for my children. He is well respected by other attorneys in both McHenry and Kane counties and is able to get things done. Would recommend him to anyone and would use him again.

— Client 08/30/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-08-29

Phil has represented me on two occasions, he is incredibly knowledgeable, thorough and gets results!! If you are seeking help in a divorce, you should at minimum meet with Phil and give strong consideration to his expertise.

— Client 08/29/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-06-03

Phil Lengle handled my original divorce case (concluded after 2 years in 2007). Because of his character, knowledge and reputation, I returned recently for him to represent me in pleadings for my children's father to contribute to college expenses, plus reimburse for past unpaid child support and medical expenses. I appreciate that Lengle is straight-forward about what is typical and can be expected in a court of law. Upon initial meetings both times, he clears up misconceptions or unrealistic expectations that I have, thus focusing me on the issues that are relevant in court. He pursued only issues, claims, or pleadings that would be considered germane to the cases. I believe this was instrumental in keeping costs down; comparatively speaking, my overall costs have been far lower than those I hear from acquaintances and friends. Lengle's knowledge base is evident in that he often cites legal references that can be of value in proving a position. His experience as a GAL is also beneficial to his clients as he has experience on another level regarding custody of children. I found that he is well respected among colleagues in the legal community as during social conversations when they hear who I work with, unanimously the responses are that he is good, respected, etc.; no one has ever tried to persuade me away or had a negative comment. I find that Lengle and the office do what they say they are going to do, so I do not have to worry and the story doesn't change unexpectedly. I made it a point to contact the office the week before any scheduled court dates and through that contact was kept well informed about plans, progress and expectations. When I was frustrated and probably a bit overbearing, Lengle and staff were respectful, understanding and responsive to me and made certain that I understood. Even news that I didn't want to hear or couldn't believe was delivered to me in a way that I still knew they were listening to my concerns and trying their best, yet valuable resources were not wasted pursuing irrelevant issues; sometimes I needed to be told to let it go. He was available to meet with me and accepted my notes and just added highlight and comments. I was confident that he heard everything I needed to say. Sometimes (often) I had to ask for clarification on jargon and I would remind them that I don't know the legal terminology; so Lengle or staff would explain better to me without making me feeling dumb. His actual trial skills evidenced his organizational ability and talent - I was squirming in my seat listening to my children's father on the stand as it was evident through Lengle's questioning what was the truth and what was not. I was impressed with how he actually knew and addressed all aspects of each issue at hand. I have referred Lengle to two friends/acquaintances, one who was very demanding and dissatisfied with former lawyers; both were impressed with his abilities and pleased with their outcomes.

— Client 06/03/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-06-01

Worked with Phil for over 7 years. Phil and his staff were very professional putting lots off effort into my case. Phil did lots of work behind the scenes to prepare for trial and was exceptional. His cross examination was very tactical and well prepared. During testimony of my Ex he found, and pointed out almost every discrepancy with my Ex's finances as well as her supposed expert witness completely dis-crediting both. This was a very difficult case which could have had very bad results if Phil wasn't prepared.

— Client 06/01/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-05-28

Phil has been my attorney for the past seven years dealing with numerous post decree issues. Phil has always been fair and honest with me. Phil has allowed me to drive my case, but was always straight forward as to the possible outcomes of my case. He knows the law well, which gives you a realistic view of your case. The paralegals are responsive and professional. Billing is sent monthly and has always been fair for the work completed. I have never in seven years had to question a billing statement. Phil will be an advocate for you.

— Client 05/28/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2009-08-01 02:38:11

A charismatic trial lawyer, you never know what argument Phil will come up with next. He is one of the best in Kane County--absolutely mesmerizing at the bench. He is of the highest possible integrity. He truly cares about his clients, his partners and his employers. We need more like him.

— Peer 08/01/2009

4.2 / 5.0
2009-08-07 09:26:41

No description provided

— Peer 08/07/2009

4.0 / 5.0
2016-12-28

Hired Phil for my divorce, he was thorough and efficient. Excellent follow-up, always was up-to-date on the details. Finalized divorce in eight months, which im told is fast.

— Client 12/28/2016

3.8 / 5.0
2012-10-20

No description provided

— Client 10/20/2012

3.0 / 5.0
2009-08-15 15:47:18

No description provided

— Peer 08/15/2009

1.0 / 5.0
2024-06-30

there is no star option. When Peter Follenweider took my case pro bono I thought I won a lottery as I could not afford a lawyer when my husband filed for divorce. I was misrepresented by Peter and I still wonder what is the connection between him and the judge. My sister in law wrote to me: You have been validated. You got screwed. I don’t know what more I can say. I was left by my husband in Poland with 2 small children with no job no money no housing still the judge did not award me any alimony. All this with the permission and on the watch of Peter. He did not fight for my justice at all. I am in late 50's with no assets no retirement I do not have my own house. I have many medical issues that effect my earning while my ex enjoys 5000+ VA benefits a month tax free with his lover. His disabilities are supposedly PTSD but he is absolutely fit and healthy. In my opinion his disabilities are a hoax. Stay away from Peter Follenweider. He ruin my life.

— Client 06/30/2024

1.0 / 5.0
2014-12-02

I HIRED HIM A YEAR AGO .HE WASTED MY TIME, I HAD TO REMIND HIM ABOUT THE CASE EVERY TIME I WENT TO HIS OFFICE.HE WAS ALWAYS YAWING .HE WAS ONLY HAPPY WHEN HE GOT PAID.HE WAS POOR IN UNDERSTANDING THE CASE , GAVE IN TO EX DEMANDS. I HAVE GONE AHEAD IN DETAIL ABOUT HIM TO THE ASSOCIATION. MADE ME COMPROMISE IN EVERY NEGOTIATIONS. POOR STAFF . PROMISED ME THE MOON , AS SOON AS MY FINANCES GOT LOW HE STARTED MAKING EXCUSES AND ASKED ME TO GIVE UP MY CUSTODY BATTLE BECAUSE I HAD NO MONEY.VERY UNPROFESSIONAL .

— Client 12/02/2014

1.0 / 5.0
2014-09-06

Poorly run office. He oversaw mediation with my ex and after waiting approx. 7 weeks, they still hadn't sent me the terms of what we agreed upon.

— Client 09/06/2014

Contact the Firm

!
!
!

Philip J. Lengle of Weiler & Lengle PC

Address

2445 Dean Street,
Suite G,
Saint Charles, Illinois 60175